In This Section


RE at Peartree

RE is part of the basic curriculum which means that the local authority provides a syllabus for religious education and is therefore not part of the national curriculum. As a school we follow the Herts syllabus for RE.

The Herts syllabus for RE is written by the Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE) and is reviewed and changed every 5 years.

As part of this syllabus Christianity is taught every year from Reception all the way up to Year 6. We also focus on learning about each of the other six main principle religions.

In Foundation and KS1, RE is taught through common religious festivals and themes such as light and belonging. In KS2 the focus is more on comparing Christianity with another religion.

Year 3 - Christianity and Islam.

Year 4 - Christianity and Hinduism.

Year 5 –Christianity and Judaism

Year 6 - Christianity and Buddhism.

RE is taught through two main strands. The first is AT1 which is learning about religion. This is where children find out information about a given religion or a festival. The second strand is AT2 which is learning from a religion. This is where children reflect on what they have learnt from a religion and think about what it means to them for example when looking at how light is celebrated in Christianity children might reflect on how light and dark makes them feel.

At Peartree we use the Hertfordshire Primary Scheme of Work as a guideline to our lessons. Links to these schemes of work can be found below.